Free workout tracker apps compared
Reps: Gym Workout Log (repsworkout.com) is a free gym workout log for iPhone and Android, with no paid tier, no ads and no account needed to log. Below, six workout trackers with a free plan side by side: Boostcamp, FitNotes, Hevy, JEFIT, Reps and Strong, with a source for every fact.
We make Reps, so read this as a maker’s comparison. The apps are listed in alphabetical order and we don’t rank them. Facts about the other apps come from their own websites, help centres and store listings, opened on 3 November 2026 unless a source says otherwise; each one links to its source. Spot something out of date? Write to [email protected] and we fix it.
Which one fits you
- You want to follow a ready-made program like 5/3/1, GZCLP or a Reddit PPL: Boostcamp. Its program library is free1.
- You’re on Android and want a plain, offline log with no account: FitNotes. It’s free, with no ads, and its Play listing says it collects no data2.
- You want friends and a feed, or you log on a watch: Hevy. It has a social feed and Apple Watch and Wear OS apps3.
- You want a big exercise library with videos and an adaptive plan: JEFIT. It lists 1,400+ exercises; its AI Adaptive Plan is part of Elite4.
- You want everything free, no account, and an AI coach that has read your log: Reps. The coach needs a free account and has a daily message limit; there’s no watch app5.
- You want a simple log with an Apple Watch app and you’re fine with 3 routines for free or paying for PRO: Strong6.
At a glance
| App | Paid tier (US App Store) | Account to log | Watch app |
|---|---|---|---|
| Boostcamp | Pro: $14.99 a month or $59.99 a year1 | Yes, a free account1 | None listed1 |
| FitNotes | None (Android app)2 | No2 | None listed2 |
| Hevy | Pro: $2.99 or $3.99 a month, $23.99 a year, $74.99 once3 | Yes3 | Apple Watch, Wear OS3 |
| JEFIT | Elite: $12.99 a month or $69.99 a year4 | Not stated | Apple Watch, Wear OS4 |
| Reps | None. Everything is free5 | No5 | None |
| Strong | PRO: $4.99 a month or $29.99 a year6 | Yes, all users are asked to sign up6 | Apple Watch6 |
Prices are the main plans the US App Store shows; most apps list more price points, and prices differ by country.
App by app
Boostcamp
- Free plan
- The program library (14,000+ programs), the workout tracker, RPE logging, rest timers and building your own programs, with no cap on programs; the plate calculator has 10 free uses1
- Pro adds
- Personalized Programs built from a questionnaire (the App Store calls it an AI coach), auto progression, per-exercise records and charts, the Muscle Tracker and exclusive coach programs1
- Account
- Boostcamp’s own guide says to create a free account1
- Offline
- Yes, says the App Store listing1
- Platforms
- iPhone, Android1
- Ads
- None1
- Languages
- English1
FitNotes
- Free plan
- The whole app: workout log, routines, calendar, rest timer. “Free to use, and no ads”, says its listing2
- Account
- None; the Play listing says the app collects no data2
- Your data
- Kept on the phone; backup to the phone, Google Drive or Dropbox; CSV export2
- Platforms
- Android. On iPhone, FitNotes 2 is a separate app from another developer, “based on” FitNotes; its free version saves up to 12 workouts2
- Last update
- 24 October 2025 on Google Play2
Hevy
- Free plan
- Logging with no ads; 4 routines, 7 custom exercises, graphs and stats for the last 3 months3
- Pro adds
- No caps, full history in graphs, and Hevy Trainer, a program builder that Hevy says doesn’t use AI3
- Account
- Required: Apple, Google or e-mail3
- Offline
- Yes3
- Platforms
- iPhone, iPad, Android, Apple Watch, Wear OS3
- Extras
- Social feed; an official ChatGPT app; CSV export; imports Strong history from CSV3
- Languages
- 16, including English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, French, Polish and Russian3
JEFIT
- Free plan
- Free and custom routines, 1,400+ exercises with instructions, logging and history4
- Elite adds
- Professionally designed plans, advanced analytics, more watch workouts than the free plan allows, and the Adaptive Plan, which JEFIT says is powered by AI4
- Account
- Not stated on its pricing page or listings
- Platforms
- iPhone, Android, Apple Watch, Wear OS4
- Languages
- English, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Spanish4
Reps
- Free plan
- Everything: routines, custom exercises, charts and your whole history, with no cap set; no paid tier5
- Account
- Not needed to log: tap Skip — use without account. The coach, sync and the ChatGPT and Claude connections need a free account5
- Offline
- Yes, except the coach, sync and connections5
- AI
- A coach that reads your log and writes your next routine, with a daily message limit; it turns a plan from a photo, PDF, CSV or text into routines5
- Platforms
- iPhone, Android. No watch app, no Apple Health5
- Missing
- No social feed, no import of workout history from other apps, export in JSON only5
- Languages
- English, Polish, German, Spanish, French, Italian, Portuguese (Brazil), Czech, Slovak, Lithuanian, Ukrainian, Belarusian, Russian5
Strong
- Free plan
- Any number of workouts and 3 custom routines6
- PRO adds
- Routines with no cap, body part measurements, all charts, plate and warm-up calculators, themes6
- Account
- “All users will be prompted to sign up for an account”, says Strong’s help centre6
- Platforms
- iPhone, Android, Apple Watch6
- Extras
- No ads; CSV export; Apple Health6
- Languages
- English, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish6
How we checked
On 3 November 2026 we read each app’s App Store and Google Play listings and its own pricing and help pages; Hevy’s help pages were read on 18 October 2026, for our Reps vs Hevy page. We did not create accounts in the other apps, so what they show only after sign-up is described from their own pages. Prices are from the US App Store. We keep copies of every source and re-check this page every month.
- Boostcamp on the App Store (US) and Google Play; Boostcamp: is Boostcamp free, Pro, workout tracker.
- FitNotes on Google Play (listing and data safety); FitNotes 2 on the App Store (US).
- Hevy on the App Store (US); Hevy help: what Hevy Pro includes, Hevy Trainer, Hevy on ChatGPT, export, Strong import; Hevy vs Strong (account). More on our Reps vs Hevy page.
- JEFIT on the App Store (US) and Google Play; JEFIT: Basic and Elite.
- Reps: what’s free and the help page.
- Strong on the App Store (US); Strong help: what is Strong PRO, why you need an account, export, what is Strong.
Changes: 3 November 2026, first version.
Questions
What is the best free workout tracker app?
There isn’t one best app; it depends on what you need. Reps: Gym Workout Log is free with no paid tier and no account needed. FitNotes is free on Android with no account. Boostcamp has a free program library. Hevy, Strong and JEFIT have free plans with limits and a paid tier.
Which workout apps are completely free?
Of the six here, Reps (iPhone and Android) and FitNotes (Android) have no paid tier. Boostcamp, Hevy, JEFIT and Strong have a free plan plus a paid one: Boostcamp Pro, Hevy Pro, JEFIT Elite and Strong PRO.
Which workout app works without an account?
Reps lets you skip the account and log straight away; FitNotes on Android has no account at all. Hevy requires one, Strong asks every user to sign up, and Boostcamp tells you to create a free account.
Which free workout app has an Apple Watch app?
Hevy, JEFIT and Strong have Apple Watch apps, and Hevy and JEFIT also have Wear OS apps. Reps, Boostcamp and FitNotes have none.
Which workout apps have an AI coach?
Reps has a free AI coach that reads your log (free account, daily limit). Boostcamp’s questionnaire-built programs and JEFIT’s AI Adaptive Plan are paid. Hevy Trainer is part of Hevy Pro, and Hevy says it doesn’t use AI.